Posted in Events, Personal, Work

Unexpected Hero

Yesterday was chaotic.. and I mean chaotic, to the point where I almost had a nervous breakdown at work (..and not too long ago, it just happened).

Here’s how it all happened:

It was just a normal day at work… with a bit of a twist. I somehow ended up with the first credit of the day (Even though it didn’t go through, and the customer was irate cause of the policy), but then a few hours later… complete chaos. A lady (Who regularly comes in here) goes around shopping and all, when suddenly.. an alarm goes off. I got up (I was organizing some candy and snacks at the registers), and see the lady leaving out.. with a black bag and unpurchased merchandise, right in plain view! I tried to stopped her, but it was too late. Kinda knowing what to do (..and fearing that no one, but me saw what happened), I immediately called my assistant manager, and told her what happened. Two of my coworkers asked me what happened, and once I told them, I kept my eye out on the thief. Somehow, I caught her kinda ‘trying on clothes’ (Just putting it on her to see if it fits), and what happens next? She comes back, only this time… the black bag was empty! She looked like she was drunk, by the way that she was walking. Glad my coworker caught that.

As soon as she came through the door, I greeted her professionally, and with a smile. All seemed normal, but my coworkers and I still had to keep an eye out for her. The LP and assistant manager started to look through the camera, and watched the footage again, just to make sure that my suspicions were right. I was hoping that my eyes wasn’t playing tricks on me, and that the stuff she ‘stole’ was brought, or exchanged.

Nope…

About 10-20 minutes later, before I took my break, I decided to still be professional, and told the lady to have a great day. “Thanks, and I hope you have a good day too”, she told me. Now my anxiety started to rise, and I didn’t even realize it, until after it was all said and done (The verdict, I mean). After I got off of my break, I went back to the registers and got the line down. Now I feel my anxiety is starting to get to me. What was gonna happen next? Would I be wrong? What will the LP and assistant manager will say to me? Will I have to go to court to testify my story? Tons of thoughts swelled up to my head. Several minutes later, the verdict was in: The police took the lady away in handcuffs. The LP and assistant manager came to me and started to high five me for a job well done on catching the thief, who.. was indeed drunk, all that time (Another coworker who was nearby told me). In fact, she tried to steal something else in front of the other coworker, but the coworker caught her red handed. Let’s just say.. that I was not only in shock, but in total disbelief.. not only for the lady, but for the fact that all of this was happening right before my eyes. I never thought in a million years, I would actually catch a thief at my job. I still couldn’t believe it. The craziest part of it all was that what she said before I went on break. I never had that happened before… that’s what almost caused me to cry.

“I wanna go home. I wanna go home. I wanna go home…”

That’s what I kept on saying throughout the rest of my shift. It was that bad, almost to the point of the verge of a nervous breakdown. I had to go the back of the store a few times just to avoid that. I didn’t want my coworkers to know, or to even think that I was almost having an anxiety attack. Thankfully it was nearly empty throughout my shift. I did had customers, but I had to remain strong and pretend that nothing happened.. even though it did. I had to be my usual self.

After my shift was over, I had to talk to another of my coworker to help ease my mind of what happened earlier. Of course my supervisor and LP congratulated me on a job well done. Even though that was all said and done, it was still fresh in my mind. When I got home, I wanted to stop and let it all out (..and I did, for a minute or two). I had to consider this the absolute most chaotic shift of my life.

“You did it! You caught her! You’re a hero”!

…Even though I’m being considered a(n unexpected) hero, I don’t feel like I am.. especially since my anxiety got in the way…, but hey, I guess I can actually call myself a hero, cause there’s one thing that I actually did:

Overcame my anxiety through this crazy situation, and somehow had the confidence to pull through. When times are tough, you gotta pull through, cause at the end.., there’s gonna be a rainbow waiting for you.

Author:

I'm just a photographer, nerd, gamer, rebel, and fashionista who speaks in 6 and sings in 11 different languages.

Leave a Reply

