Posted in Events, Family, Friends, News, Personal, Photography, Relationships, School, Weather, Work

The Calm Before The Holiday Storm: Recent Updates

Jeez… can’t I go at least a day to write an update on my blogs without getting too caught up with school, work, and family issues?? Guess not, but for now I can.

So… how are y’all readers and viewers doing these past few months since I last wrote on here? Hope ya are doing well. Me.. I’ve been trying to get an update on here since October, but once again.. been extremely busy with school, work, and family (Mainly work and family).

October was really, really busy for me. It was kinda okay for the most part, but there were a few good days that I had.

20151016_182914First off, in mid October, I went to downtown Chicago with Touré, Nick, Shawn, Stanesha, Josh, Bernard, Shirley, Olivia, and a few others for Josh’s birthday party (It was located in this place called Pinstripes. It was like a restaurant with a bowling alley and stuff in it. It was so much fun). After the party was over, Touré, Nick, and I decided to walk downtown before we went back home. It was so relaxing, I needed that walk with the babe and brother.

So two weeks has passed, and I thought that I was gonna get a chance to give an update, but nope.. it was time for the parent and I to move. We moved out of our old apartment towards the final few days of last month, and the first few days of this month into this bigger apartment right across the way from our old place. I have a bigger room with a walk-in closet and my own bathroom!! 😀 It’s really awesome, but it’s only temporary until I move to Chicago with Touré, which will not be until the next two years or so.

So after the move-in (Which was freakin stressful, due to the fact that I had to mainly move all of mine and the parent’s stuff, cause she was working mostly in the daytime, and it took much longer than expected, cause why not move a few things here and there where you can have multiple cars help you move?! Oh boy… when I move, I’ll try to move everything out in one day, but who knows..?), I continued with work and school (By the way, I got an A and an A- on both of my midterms! Yay me!).

Then, one Saturday evening (In the middle of this month), I get the news from the parent that she had been in a car accident. That made my chest hurt, cause I didn’t know if she was hurt or if the car had been totaled. It turned out that only a small part of the passenger side (In the front) had been totaled. She escaped unharmed. The driver who hit her, got “impatient and zoomed across the road, when clearly it wasn’t her turn and hit the other driver”. That’s what I heard from the paramedics, who saw the accident as well, thank goodness for them. So she has been riding a rental car for the past two weeks now, while her car is in the shop getting repairs.

On the 17th, of my relatives was having surgery to remove a tumor out of her stomach (Or kidneys.. I can’t remember which part it was in), so the parent decided to stay with her until she got out of surgery later on that day. The day before, she stay over into the next day, when she (the relative) started having surgery. The surgery was a success, by the way. As for me, I had to work on my birthday (Which was last Wednesday), so I really didn’t get a chance to celebrate it until that Saturday. It was kinda stressful, cause I wanted a party on that day, but it didn’t happen, due to all of the news that has been happening from the end of October to last week.

20151121_144533

So what did I do last Saturday and Sunday? Why, hung out with my soulmate, Touré (of course)! It was actually fun, cause we played games, went to the mall (I showed him an anime store, which he got mad at me for, cause he wanted to buy a lot of stuff, but he didn’t had the money to do so. I was laughing a bit, but I also felt his pain. Not to worry though.. next Friday we’ll go there), and sang Christmas music and played in the snow (Yes it did snow on Saturday. Since we both love winter, we decided to make the most of it and threw snowballs at each other).

20151121_145126

20151118_135955He and his Mum gave me this stuffed dog for my birthday (That happy b-day thing my aunt made for me). I decided to name the dog Kodzo (It’s pronounced ko-jo, by the way) out of respect (It’s also Touré’s middle name) and just cause.

20151107_000927His Mum gave me these slippers for my birthday.

20151122_160141Touré brought me these for my birthday as well. The player 1 bracelet is mine, and the other one is his.

So that’s what has been going on with me for the past month. Overall, it’s been busy for me, but it’s not over yet. Thanksgiving is in two days and this time, I gotta work on that day AND Black Friday (Actually, I gotta work 5 days this week, including those days that I mentioned). I really hate the fact that most of the retail stores are gonna open once again for Thanksgiving (Although from what I heard, some of the stores are fighting back and decided to be closed on that day, which is very good), some starting at 6 p.m. (Like the store that I work at), and others starting at 3 p.m. or earlier. Thankfully (and luckily) for my babe, his job is closed on Thanksgiving, but they’re giving him and the other employees the option to work on Black Friday. Thankfully for me, I don’t have to close on Black Friday, nor on Thanksgiving (My store will be open from 6 p.m. on that day to midnight on Black Friday. All I have to say bout this is that it isn’t right by all means to have any stores open on Thanksgiving!). So we’ll see how this year’s holiday season goes.

One other thing that I wanna mention is that December is almost here, which means that 2015 will be ending. Time is indeed flying by too fast. School is almost over for me in a few weeks, so I’ll have some time to rest and get my plans unfolded (I.E., get a full-time job, volunteer at a hospital, register for next semester, and save money for the apartment and furniture).. and with that said, here’s to this year’s crazy holiday season.. the calm before the storm!

Author:

I'm just a photographer, nerd, gamer, rebel, and fashionista who speaks in 6 and sings in 11 different languages.

Leave a Reply

