Posted in Family, Friends, Health, Personal

I’m the Anemic One

Anemia is a condition that develops when your blood lacks enough healthy red blood cells or hemoglobin. Hemoglobin is a main part of red blood cells and binds oxygen. If you have too few or abnormal red blood cells, or your hemoglobin is abnormal or low, the cells in your body will not get enough oxygen. Symptoms of anemia — like fatigue — occur because organs aren’t getting what they need to function properly.

Anemia is the most common blood condition in the U.S. It affects about 3.5 million Americans. Women and people with chronic diseases are at increased risk of anemia. Important factors to remember are:

Certain forms of anemia are hereditary and infants may be affected from the time of birth.

  • Women in the childbearing years are particularly susceptible to iron-deficiency anemia because of the blood loss from menstruation and the increased blood supply demands during pregnancy.
  • Older adults also may have a greater risk of developing anemia because of poor diet and other medical conditions.

There are many types of anemia. All are very different in their causes and treatments. Iron-deficiency anemia, the most common type, is very treatable with diet changes and iron supplements. Some forms of anemia — like the anemia that develops during pregnancy — are even considered normal. However, some types of anemia may present lifelong health problems.”

Source: WebMD
http://www.webmd.com/a-to-z-guides/understanding-anemia-basics

All this month I was suffering from a prolonged cycle (Girls and women know what I’m talking about). Since then, I’ve been getting very sick, lightheaded, and experiencing most of the symptoms of the dreaded anemia. I’m feeling much better today as a matter of fact, but…

I seriously need to stay away from the aspirin for a while. Last Wednesday I started taking two aspirin to get rid of my cramps.. that went away, but I also noticed something else: It was making the cycle slow down. So the next day I took it (Two more aspirin) and it made it slow down again. On the third day, I took two more aspirin (600 mg. thus far), cause I was suffering from a headache. I skipped Saturday, cause I didn’t want to overdose myself on aspirin (Also I felt lightheaded at work that morning too, due to the aspirin side effects.. or so I think). Last night I ended up with another headache before bed (Due to me staying on the computer for long periods of time without a break), so I ended up taking two more aspirin (For a total of 800 mg).

Today I woke up with severe stomach pain, and being on the verge of passing out. That’s when I decided to stop taking so many aspirin for now until my body is back to normal. I almost ended up overdosing on em, just cause I was stressing out so much during those 5 days.

Anyway, all of those symptoms (Fatigue, lightheadedness, cold hands and feet, which I did have yesterday, ect.) made me think that I was pregnant. Well.. turns out that I’m not.., which is a good thing, but there was something more serious that happened to me: Anemia.

Yep, ever since I was a kid, I had to take iron pills just so my body can replenish blood supply. Back then, I didn’t know that I was anemic, but last Friday made me remember that month when I had to take iron pills.. and boy, were they nasty.

It was weird, cause Saturday I was talking to my coworker about it, and she told me that she was anemic too (Oh boy, we got something in common.. and it’s a bad one). Then I remember one of my high school friends had to go to the hospital a few weeks ago, cause she passed out from iron deficiency (Another anemic friend). Then Lawrence told me that his father’s side were anemic, and that his Mum’s anemic too.. and his sister’s anemic as well (Except they have sickle cell anemia, not iron deficiency anemia), and yes.. he’s anemic as well.

So yea… this month kinda scares me, mainly cause of the fact that some of the people I know are anemic (Most of my family on my Mum’s side (Even my Mum too) are anemic, so I must’ve been born with it too, and didn’t know about it till now. That scared me the most though). Thankfully for me and most others, I’m iron deficient anemic, so it’s easy to treat.

Learning that I’m anemic also made me realize that I need to take better care of myself, and get checked out as well, so I can learn how to better take care of myself. I will get checked out next month, cause now since my body’s changing, it’s time to take better care of it.

Also, if you think that you’re anemic or noticing the symptoms of anemia, go get checked out right away or as soon as possible. It will help change your life for the better, and actually save it too.

Author:

I'm just a photographer, nerd, gamer, rebel, and fashionista who speaks in 6 and sings in 11 different languages.

Leave a Reply

