Posted in Family, Personal

What Would Make Me Happy…?

A while ago, my Mum came to my room to see how I was doing. I was laying down,

Mum: “Are you sick”?

Me: “No”.

Mum: “What do you want to eat”?

Me: “Chicken wings”.

Mum: “…if there is one thing that would make you happy, what would it be”?

Now, when my Mum asked me that question, my mind started to wander. “Should I tell her that I want to move out on my own, that I want my own car, or do I want to just tell her that I want to quit my job”? I couldn’t tell her how I really feel, but I had to. So I told her the one thing that would make me happy once and for all:

Me: “To get my own place”.

Mum: “To get your own apartment”?

Me: “Yeah”.

Mum: “…”

My stomach just turned after I told her that I wanted my own apartment. I knew that I wanted to get my own apartment for about almost 2 years, but to even tell her that I wanted to move out on my own, it was basically a conversation almost gone wrong. Back then, I didn’t know that much about moving out, cause I had looked up apartments from an apartment guide book, and every time I talked to her bout that or a used car that I want, it turned into a nagging conversation. Back then, it annoyed the heck out of me, but  that was only cause I was young (I was only 21-22 at that time), but since I’ve grown, I have done my research. I know what I must do in order to make this goal happen.

Never would I thought that my Mum asked me something like, ‘what would make me happy’. I mean, I have several things that would make me happy right now, like moving out, living in downtown Chicago, Georgia, retiring in either France, Italy, or Japan, traveling, having a better job, getting my own car, doing some photography, endless shopping, ect., but one (Make that two) thing(s) that would make me truly happy  is having my own apartment.. and having my own car.

I’m sure my Mum understands that I want to get my own place, cause I’m starting to get up to that age where I need to get my own place, even though adults at my age and older are starting to live in his/her parent(s) house now due to the economy and whatnot, but I need to move out sooner or later. For now, I gotta save up, make some sacrifices, and do whatever I can to finally move out.

Author:

I'm just a photographer, nerd, gamer, rebel, and fashionista who speaks in 6 and sings in 11 different languages.

Leave a Reply

